images-1Disclaimer: I am late on this one for Pop Gumbo, but if you are Facebook friend of mine, you saw my status on this weeks ago.

So, I am sitting at home, chilling with a glass of wine, watching VH1 Soul, when this video comes on. I am “Ooooooh, this my club jam!” I see Hype’s name, I then see Jake’s face (I got slightly hyped cause I have a small gay crush on him), then Forest’s face (I am like OKAAY, I am digging this…) and then OPIE’S face flashes on the screen. SCREEEEEEEECH! What in the hell?

WHY? Someone tell me why? Ron, are you trying to get street cred? Your wife isn’t doing what she used to? You bored with your millions? Cause I just don’t get it.

When I think of vodka and Henney, I don’t think of a 50-year old balding man who was on Happy Days. STOP IT. I like my middle aged white men paying my rent with no strings attached doing what they normally do: play golf, take the fam to a Yankees games, drinking beer at the local pub or showing off their new John Deer. I mean what’s next? Tom Hanks poppin’ bottles with don’t like to bathe Jim Jones? Robert Deniro throwing money on Dolicia Bryant in a Weezy video? [Well since he likes black women, that might actually happen].

This Obama Effect HAS GOTTEN OUT OF CONTROL. White people, please read this carefully: We, the black people of the United States of America are elated that you voted for President Obama. Thank you. Thank for allowing 8 years of Bush’s UTTER fuck-ups talk you into voting for a black man–we know that for some of you it was difficult and we are eternally grateful for that sacrifice. But, when Obama talks about YES WE CAN all do it together, and WE DID, he sure as hell wasn’t talking about this. Somethings ARE NOT for you to participate in, ex. The Cha Cha slide at a wedding. Let it go, you really don’t want to be us, cause the minute you couldn’t catch a cab, wash your hair and go or were told “No,” you would be soooooooooooooo OVER it.

Watch the video here.

