In the newest issue of Latina, Beyonce was interviewed to discuss her all-Spanish rendition of her screamfest, B-Day. When asked was there there anything that she wanted her Latino fans to know, Beyonce responded with the following:

I would thank them for embracing me. I did radio (promotions) this morning for hours and hours and I noticed a big difference between speaking to all of the Latino stations and speaking to the pop stations or the other stations. With the Latino stations, there was so much love and everyone is so genuine. I’m just jealous that I wasn’t born Latina. I wish I had been because the culture is so beautiful. I’m very grateful Latinos are embracing me.

Dear Ms. Knowles,

Please stop with these lies. For starters, you are not jealous of anyone, partially because your father Matthew has made sure there is no one for you to be jealous of (Other than J-Hud and Rihanna)–either he has mismanaged your competition, dogged them out, or had them assassinated. Bey–as much as people want to hate on you–you are one of the best performers and one of the most beautiful people in the world right now despite being so OVEREXPOSED. You know how to put on a show, engage your audience, and dance your ass off, but at times you don’t know how to express yourself in a very intelligent manner. Which is fine to me, you are a singer not the White House Press Secretary.

But let me be honest with you; You don’t have to kiss ass by pretending to want to be Latina in order to sell albums or to admire their culture. Just do what I do: befriend Latinos, read about Latinos, visit historic Latino areas like Washington Heights or San Antonio, of sit in a Dominican beauty shop on a Sunday afternoon.

In your defense, I know how editors take things out on context, so you never really know what was said. But what irks me about you, is that we never learn anything new about you in interviews: we don’t know if you are a Democrat or not, we don’t know where you stand on gay rights, we don’t even know if you recycle, or if you prefer Pepsi or Coke. And to our dismay, this is what comes out of your mouth.

I love my brown sisters, don’t get me wrong. But Bey you don’t have to be so damn self-depreciating in order to express your gratitude to others. You are a black woman, don’t ever downplay that again.

xoxoxo

KT

P.S. Please purchase a Brita and place it on your mouth. START FILTERING WHAT YOU SAY IN INTERVIEWS.

